Week 03

This week:

  • discovered offline registration on Game Maker had stopped working
  • work computer only goes online with ethernet
  • work space only has wifi
  • fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu
  • brought computer home over weekend
  • incorporated dialogue prototype into core game
  • applied push/pull code to all four characters
  • smoothed out a few glitches with movement code

Not sure what’s up with Game Maker, as I’ve had the offline registration file downloaded for months and it’s always worked until now. Suddenly it tells me me on bootup that I need an internet connection to verify my registration. So I go through the offline registration rigamarole, like ya do, and pointing to blacklist.yoyo and saying “it’s right there,” and Game Maker’s all “oh, cool beans, just reboot the program and we’re square. And then it tells me on bootup that I need and internet connection to verify my registration…

If Game Maker has figured out when YoYo Games starts phasing out 8.1 without even connecting to the web, then we’ve got some serious singularity shit going on. Anyway, dialogue was already prototyped and most of the code was already in the main game, just needed to test it and apply it to all the characters. So it was fortunate that Game Maker decided to crap out on a week when I had very little to do. This might be a sign that I have to switch to Studio, unless I want to borrow a car and bring the desktop home once a month. Guh.

OEM’s code gets buggier with each system I add, and part of this week’s goals was a lot of tedious cleanup. I work a lot more efficiently from the office, though, and I really don’t want to do boring shit from my basement, so that’s getting tabled for next week. Or never.

Checklist:

  • Basic Movement
  • Character Switching
  • Pushing/Pulling
  • Dialogue
  • Entering/Exiting Rooms
  • Collecting Inventory
  • Using Inventory
  • Climbing
  • Carrying
  • Crawling
  • Sentence Line
  • Throwing
  • Camera
0 Responses to “Week 03”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

